Legal Advocacy Center Home Legal Advocacy Center  
         
contact lac site map disclaimer privacy policy
 
       
   
home
about us
services
Training
events
legal updates
resources
donations

Virginia Coalition for Students with Disabilities

Services

Attorney/Advocate Resource List

The Virginia Coalition for Students with Disabilities Legal Advocacy Center ("LAC") maintains this listing as a resource for parents in seek of assistance. Please note that the LAC:

  • Makes no representations concerning the special education law skills or experience of the attorneys and advocates listed;
  • Receives no remuneration and has no financial arrangement with the listed advocates and attorneys for clients and cases accepted by the attorney or advocate; and
  • Assumes no responsibility for any actions or lack of action by the advocates and attorneys who are listed.

To assist in the selection of an attorney or advocate, please read our booklet, Selecting a Special Education Attorney/Advocate
[PDF-4 pgs.-163 KB]

 Attorneys


Howard Deiner, Esq.
1101 North Illinois Street
Arlington, Virginia 22205
E-mail: howarddeiner@howarddeineresq.com
Phone: 202-667-2330
Fax: 202-667-2302
On the Web: www.howarddeineresq.com


Sharon S. England, Esq.
Attorney at Law
4102 E. Parham Road, Suite B
Richmond, Virginia 23228-2749
E-mail: ssengland4@aol.com
Phone: 804-501-0171
Fax: 804-501-0173

Mary K. Hart, Esq.
P.O. Box 29894
Richmond, Virginia 23242
E-mail: lawyerhart@aol.com
Phone: 804-360-7520
Fax: 804-360-5049

Charles M. Henter, Esq.
Attorney and Counselor at Law
Queen Charlotte Square
252 East High Street
Charlottesville, VA 22902
E-mail: henter@henterlaw.com
Phone: 434-817-1840
Fax: 434-977-4235
On the Web: www.henterlaw.com


Malcolm Higgins, Esq.
641 Lynnhaven Parkway
Suite 200
Virginia Beach, Virginia 23452
E-mail: Higgins@exis.net
Phone: 757-463-9000
Fax: 757-463-5274

Kristen Konrad Johnstone, Esq.
Osterhoudt, Prillaman, Natt, Hescher, Yost, Maxwell, & Ferguson
3912 Electric Road
Roanoke, VA 24018
E-mail: kjohnstone@opnlaw.com
Phone: 540-989-0000

Paul H. Kunberger, Esq.
Attorney at Law
3604 Monument Ave., Suite E
Richmond, VA 23230
E-mail: pkunberger@yahoo.com
Phone: 804-359-9196
Fax: 804-359-9056

Stephanie A. Murray, Esq.
H. Gregory Campbell, Jr. PC
P.O. Box 885
Blacksburg, VA 24063-0885
E-mail: stephanie@gregcampbell.com
Phone: 540-951-2953
Fax: 540-951-2966
On the Web: www.gregcampbell.com


Deborah W. Smith-George
Attorney at Law
352 McLaws Circle, Suite 4
Williamsburg, Virginia 23185
E-mail: dwsmithlaw@ai5.net
Phone: 757-565-7088
Fax: 757-565-7089

Peter D. Vieth, Esq.
Wooten & Hart PLC
P.O. Box 12247
Roanoke, VA 24024
E-mail: pvieth@wootenhart.com
Phone: 540-343-2451
Fax: 540-345-6417
On the Web: www.wootenhart.com


Troutman Sanders, LLP
www.troutmansanders.com

Peninsula/Hampton Roads

James J. Wheaton, Esquire

222 Central Park Drive
Virginia Beach, Virginia 23462
Phone: 757-687-7719
Fax: 757-687-1501
E-mail: Jim.Wheaton@troutmansanders.com

Central Virginia

Sandi McNinch

1111 East Main Street
Richmond, VA 23219
Phone: (804) 697-1200
Fax: (804) 697-1339

Advocates


Laura Ackers
Director of Advocacy and Outreach
The Arc of Forsyth County
P.O. Box 10340
Winston-Salem, NC 27108
Phone: 336-777-0076, x 215
E-mail: Lackers@ec-arc.org


Deborah A. Bardari
Advocates for Children's Education, Inc.
230 NE Street
Pompano Beach, Florida
E-mail: Bardari5@aol.com
Phone: 954-785-8429

Robin B. Bledsoe
Executive Director
Colonial CASA
1158 Professional Drive, Suite B
Williamsburg, VA 23185
E-mail: robin@colonialcasa.org
Phone: 757-229-3306
Fax: 757-229-3972
On the Web: www.colonialcasa.org

Gaile Hixson
The Journey Development Center
8502 Rainbow Bridge Lane
Springfield, VA 22153
E-mail: ghsjourney@att.net
Phone: 703-455-6217

Maureen S. Hollowell
Endependence Center
6320 N. Center Drive, Bldg. #15
Suite 100
Norfolk, Virginia 23502
E-mail: maureenhol@aol.com
Phone: 757-461-8007
Fax: 757-455-8233

Denise Jones
The Journey Development Center
8502 Rainbow Bridge Lane
Springfield, VA 22153
E-mail: my-journey@att.net
Phone: 703-455-4186

Reta Y. Lewis
Intervention Strategist
P.O. Box 3389
Falls Church, VA 22043
E-mail: NovaAdvocate@aol.com
Phone: 703-848-8894
Fax: 703-827-0803

Tracy Kohut
Midlothian, Virginia
E-mail: trakoh@netzero.com
Phone: 804-744-8504

Cheryl Ward
Education Advocacy Coordinator
Endependence Center
6320 N. Center Drive, Bldg. #15
Suite 100
Norfolk, Virginia 23502
E-mail: CWARD@endependence.org
Phone: 757-461-8007
Fax: 757-455-8233

     ©2005 Legal Advocacy Center